Pound Cake

A friend once gave my dad and I a chunk of a pound cake she had baked to take with us on a long car ride. It was so delicious (and actually quite perfect for a long drive) that I had to ask her for the recipe.

Now, traditionally pound cake has a pound each of butter, sugar, flour and eggs. And nothing else! I don’t actually know where pound cakes originate– but you can definitely see where the name of the recipe comes from. The recipe from my friend, however, adds eight ounces of cream cheese and one teaspoon of vanilla to the pound each of the other four ingredients. Interesting. I think at some point I would like to make this recipe and a 100% traditional recipe side-by-side to compare. And I’ll just have to write a post all about it when I do!

This entry was posted in Cooking and Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

