Another Soup

Sweet Potato and Quinoa Soup is an excellent comfort food, just where you don’t expect to find it.

I got the recipe from my marvelous cookbook, Quinoa 365, but, true to form, I did not follow the recipe to the letter.

My recipe:

1 sweet onion, diced

~2 tbsp water

a little less than 1 (32 oz) carton of vegetable broth

1/2 cup quinoa (well rinsed)

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

1 yam, peeled and chopped

some cinnamon

a pinch of chili powder

Saute the onion in the water over medium heat until soft. Add the quinoa and broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes. Add the sweet potato, yam and cinnamon and continue to simmer until soft. Mash up with a potato masher, leaving some small chunks and fragments. Stir in a the chili powder and serve.

Differences from the cookbook recipe:

Cookbook recipe calls for only 1/2 cup onion, coconut milk, no cinnamon, more chili powder, and one other spicy spice. (I don’t remember what it was.) My family isn’t big on spicy, so I left it out, and put in just a pinch of chili powder, which I think nonetheless did add to the flavor. If you like spicy, you could just as easily add more. The recipe also wanted the sweet potato cooked separately, and the soup to be blended. I decided that was too much work, and cooking the sweet potato separately would loose flavor and nutrients.

Notes:

Onion sauteeing in water smells really different that onion sauteeing in butter or olive oil. It probably tastes really different, too, but when it’s all cooked into soup, it’s hard to tell.

This made a very thick soup. Very thick. No broth at all.

When we buy and cook sweet potatoes, we actually use yams, but call them sweet potatoes. Since this was a sweet potato soup, I wasn’t sure what to do, so I got one yam and one sweet potato. I think it made the color more interesting. I also have no idea if the sweet potato/yam distinction is significant, biologically.

This entry was posted in Cooking and Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

