Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in a Day

I just discovered Top Ten Tuesdays (via A Light Inside, via The Hog’s Head — links below) and since it’s Tuesday today, I thought I’d give it a go. There are various interpretations of today’s theme, “books to read in a day,” so I’m including a little bit of everything.

  1.  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (J.K. Rowling): I read this book (for the second time, not too long after it came out) in its entirety during a plane flight from London to San Francisco. It took me pretty close to the whole flight, so I’ll count that as “in a day.”
  2. Coronets and Steel (Sherwood Smith): I read this book the Saturday following the last day of classes in my senior year of college. This weekend is traditionally reserved for a campus-wide celebration, and since I was not on campus celebrating, this was the perfect book to relax with.
  3. The Sleeping Beauty (Mercedes Lackey): A lightly humorous, fun and entertaining, happily ever after of a story, this book that twists together multiple fairy tales is the right choice for when you have a day to set aside for light entertainment reading.
  4. You’re home sick with a cold; you don’t have a TV; anything that requires thinking is too much effort, but you’re not quite sick enough to do nothing all day. Pick up a few of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five novels in between naps.
  5. Back Home (Michelle Magorian): This book unexpectedly kept me up late into the night to finish (but I started it in the afternoon). A 12 year old girl who was evacuated to the US returns to England just after WWII. I not really sure why, but this was definitely a “can’t put it down” read.
  6. Ash (Malinda Lo): This Cinderella retelling is just beautiful, and should not be interrupted. It delivers the promised “happily ever after,” but not in the way you expect it!
  7. Three Wise Cats, Harold Konstantelos and Terri Jenkins-Brady: Take a day (or a few hours) out of the hustle and bustle of your Christmas preparations to read this book. This simply written book tells the story of the birth of Christ from the point of view of three cats whose journey mirrors that of the Three Wise Men.

I know I’m only at seven; I’ll add more books as they occur to me.

http://thehogshead.org/

http://www.jennasthilaire.com/

http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/p/features.html

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

