American Girl Handkerchief Skirt

 

A few days ago inspiration struck and I made a skirt for my American Girl doll out of two old handkerchiefs. I sort of followed this tutorial on how to get the opening for the waist — except that when I tried the first handkerchief the opening came out way too big. Luckily I had three handkerchiefs, so I took down the size a bunch, and my second and third handkerchiefs came out perfect.

I layered them together with the points alternating and stitched together the opening, including a short-ish slit down the back that is now held together with a hook and eye clasp. I’m no seamstress. I can’t sew in a straight line, so sewing in a “straight line” around the circle (i.e. for the top to come out flat and even when the doll is wearing it) was a bit of a challenge, but it didn’t come out horribly uneven, so all is well.

Then I tie-dyed the skirt. (I was already dying a T-shirt for a birthday present for my brother, so I had the dye and soda ash solution all ready to go.) Some of my colors are off; it was meant to be a rainbow. The purple came out a weird sort of grey, and the green got eaten up by the blue. Nonetheless, I’m still really pleased with how it turned out.

This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

