National Library Week

This week was National Library week, and as I check out books from two libraries, I usually have a substantial number of library books checked out. Here is this week’s list: 

Library Number One

Checked out this week: 

The Stepsister Scheme, Jim C. Hines  –  has been on my TBR list for a while

My Life as a Rhombus, Varian Johnson  –  features a high school girl who likes/is good at math

The Everything Sewing Book, Sandra Detrixhe

Already on my shelf: 

Plastic-free: how I kicked the plastic habit and you can too, Beth Terry

The Wizard Hunters: the fall of Ile-Rien, Martha Wells

The New World, Michael A. Stackpole  –  the third book in a trilogy my mom was reading

101 Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies, Gwen Steege  –  came across this at the bookstore and decided to get it from the library first (apricot chocolate chip cookies are delicious)

Library Number Two

Checked out this week: 

Me and My Sewing Machine: a beginer’s guide, Kate Haxell

101 Ways to Use Your First Sewing Machine, Elizaneth Dubicki

Make It Paleo: over 200 grain-free recipes for any occasion, Bill Staley and Hayley Mason  –  I don’t think I buy into the philosophy behind the paleo diet, but I wanted to investigate

Kalimpura, Jay Lake  –  I am drawn to the cover: a woman walking towards me, carrying two infants, one in a sling across the front and the other on her back along with a sleeping roll and various other packs with a long sheathed sword attached, and an unsheathed long fighting knife in her hand. Her expression is intent and fierce. Edit: oops, well, it’s the third book in a trilogy… Maybe I will look for the first book, Green

How to be a Dragon — Without Burning Your Tongue, Arlene Williams  –  the title caught my eye at the library

Quicksilver, R. J. Anderson  –  young adult (science fiction) psychological thriller?  –  a teen with synesthesia

Ultraviolet, R. J. Anderson  –  sequel to Quicksilver  –  an asexual teen

The Secret of Kells, Flatiron Film Co.  –  I rarely have DVDs checked out, but this one sounded good  –  (it was; not stunning, but good)

Already on my shelf: 

The Home Creamer, Kathy Farrell-Kingsley

Quesadillas, Donna Kelly

The Perfect Scoop: ice creams, sorbets, granitas, and sweet accompaniments, David Lebovitz  –  yum! 

Wildly Affordable Organic: eat fabulous food, get healthy, and save the planet–all on $5 a day or less, Linda Watson  –  sounds good to me! (if a bit hard to believe) 

Craftcycle: 100+ eco-friendly projects and ideas for everyday living, Heidi Boyd

Socks Appeal: 16 fun & funky friends sewn from socks, Brenna Maloney  –  socks! how could I not check this out? 

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest, Charles de Lint  

The Riddle, Alison Croggon  –  second book in a quartet  –  having a hard time getting into it

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

