Top Ten Beach Reads (however YOU define a beach read!)

Read all about Top Ten Tuesdays at the blog, The Broke and the Bookish.

Honestly, I don’t know what this thing about beach reads is all about. At the kind of beaches I like to go to, if you sat down to read you’d be freezing cold, your hair would be blowing in your face, you’d have hold the pages down so that you could actually read, and there would be sand everywhere. Doesn’t sound ideal to me.

So instead of some vision of lying on a beach towel in the sun, wearing a bikini, relaxing with a tall glass of iced tea and a book, my idea of a beach read is the book I’d read inside, curled up with some blankets and a mug of hot tea or chocolate, warming up after a day spent tide pooling at the beach. My hair is a bit windblown and tousled, and my face has that damp salty ocean air feel. I can glance up and out my window to watch the sun setting over the ocean and see the spray flying up from the rocks.

I’d want something engaging, but not too dense and deep. Something I can enjoy and get fully into, but not something that takes a lot of concentration or brain power. All that wind probably blew my brain out my ears, and if I had to read something dense I’d probably just end up gazing out the window. Something too light to keep my attention and I’d probably also end up gazing out the window. 

I expect the new Wednesdays in the Tower by Jessica Day George to be light, fun, and entertaining, the perfect enjoyable read after a day outdoors. 

Home From the Sea, by Mercedes Lackey, is set largely by the ocean, which makes it quite suited for the occasion. 

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See was on the Beach Reads shelf at my library today, and since I just got a copy of the book, it seems appropriate to add to this list. 

The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen was on that same shelf, and perhaps its slow paced, mystical quality would make it a good candidate. Something very different from what I usually read might just fit the bill after a day at the beach.

If you’re in the mood for some lesbian romance, Warming Trend by Karin Kallmaker begins on the beach in Florida. Though it then moves to Alaska, the outdoors-ey setting somehow fits my type of beach.

If non-fiction is your cup of tea, The Odyssey of KP2 by Terrie M. Williams is about a Hawaiian monk seal, and thus very ocean-relevant.

I’m about to fall asleep with my computer on my lap and the lights on, so I think I’m stopping there. (All that fresh ocean air tired me out.) 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

