Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

Read all about Top Ten Tuesdays at the blog, The Broke and the Bookish.

I have so many TBR lists. There’s my “Random Books” list where I put all of the random books that sound really good that I find when browsing the internet. There’s my “Queer books to investigate” list, where I put (mostly fantasy) books with queer characters. There’s my “Asexual books” list where books with asexual characters go. There’s my old TBR list, the list I mostly created last year, with whatever I haven’t yet gotten to on it, including the list of books I have but haven’t read yet. There’s my list of books that are being published this year. There’s my list of classics and such that I want to read sometime in my life. There are books I want to re-read. There are the books on my library shelf that I brought home because they looked interesting when I was browsing the stacks.

It’s overwhelming, sometimes, and I can’t even figure out how to combine them all into one list, or even one single file on my computer. Instead of purposefully going through and reading books from these lists, I just read whatever strikes me at any particular moment. So somehow, distilling these many lists down to one Top Ten Tuesdays list makes me more likely to actually read books specifically from my TBR lists.

Books that came out recently or are being released soon:

Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell was released on May 28th, but my library hasn’t gotten it to me yet. Since disabilities have been somewhat of an interest in my reading lately, that aspect caught my attention when I was researching Merrie Haskell after reading The Princess Curse. Not quite as good as The Princess Curse o7-01-13 

Steadfast, by Mercedes Lackey,  came out on June 4th. It continues the Elemental Masters series. (It’s Mercedes Lackey, nothing much more to say. I hope I like it better than I did Home From the Sea, though.) Definitely liked it better. 07-14-13

Limits of Power, by Elizabeth Moon is the fourth book in the Paladin’s Legacy series. It was published on June 11th, and it should be arriving on my doorstep any day now. I may or may not wait until I’ve finished re-reading Surrender None and Liar’s Oath, both of which are dense reading, before I start Limits of Power. I’m about half way through Surrender None, so it could take a while yet to get through the two books; I’m not sure I can wait that long.  06-22-13

 Codex Born by Jim C Hines is the sequel to Libriomancer and will be published on August 6th. I’m quite looking forward to returning to this world where objects can be pulled magically from books. I’ll probably re-read Libriomancer first. I have a feeling many of the details have escaped me… 

The Gemini Deception, by Xenia Alexiou and Kim Baldwin, came out a while ago, on April 16th (well, I guess that’s only two months), but I wasn’t thinking of looking for it. However, I recently rekindled my interest in the series, and had to order it immediately. (It’s that sort of book, I guess. Usually I’m not so impatient.) 06-19-13 

From the library shelves (also includes the bookstore shelves, titles which I jotted down to find at the library):

A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Mass is about a 13 year old girl with synesthesia. After reading Ultraviolet, a young adult title by R. J. Anderson that also features a girl with synesthesia, I thought this one sounded good too. Simple story, but really interesting. 07-14-13

Sphinx’s Princess, by Ester Friesner, is a recent discovery. I’ve never managed to get into historical fiction written for adults, but I often enjoy children’s and young adult’s historical fiction. The cover of this book caught my eye at the bookstore. If I like it, the author has several other titles. 08-13-13

Fall of a Kingdom, by Hilari Bell, is waiting on my library shelf for me right now. 06-24-13

Other books:

The Girl Who Chased the Moon, by Sarah Addison Allen, has been on my lists for a while now. I’ve actually started it once already. It’s just paced so very differently than my usual reading that I find it hard to stick with it, despite enjoying it. It’s easy to set down and not come back to, and then it’s due back at the library. 

The Elementals, by Saundra Mitchell, sounds like an amazing read. This is why. I’m not sure if I’ll have to start at the beginning of the series, though.

 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

