Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels…

…They were complete stories but you just could have read more and more about these characters or set in that world.

Read all about Top Ten Tuesdays at the blog, The Broke and the Bookish.

Well, I’d really like some more companion Harry Potter books, like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages. I’m not one to ask for a Harry Potter sequel or prequel; I think the series stands as complete on its own, and another would actually take away from its impact. However, I long for more from the world and more of J. K. Rowling’s particular writing style, and the Pottermore website just doesn’t fulfill that longing.

I wish there was another book about Aly, of Tamora Pierce’s Trickster’s Choice and Trickster’s Queen. The two books are quite complete, and I can’t imagine what would come next, but I would love to spend more time in Aly’s crafty mind.

I’d love for the Frontier Magic trilogy, by Patricia C. Wrede, to continue in some way. It is listed as a trilogy on her website, and the end of the third book does seem like an end to a trilogy, but the world is just not complete. I am fascinated by this alternate, magical frontier US, and I just love Eff (the main character).

Andre Norton, co-author with Mercedes Lackey for the Halfblood Chronicles, passed away before the series finished, and it has not been touched since. It would be nice to get the rest of it… (This doesn’t quite fit the qualifications of the topic… but it’s close.)

I’d also really like some more books from Mercedes Lackey’s Bardic Universe. The books form a loose series; each forms a complete, mostly independent story, but they link to each other, so the series is neither complete nor incomplete. I’m sure there is plenty more to explore of bardic magic.

I’d like another Austenland novel from Shannon Hale. The two books are quite (independently) complete in themselves, but it’s a fun world to visit. (And I still have no idea why I like these books.)

I wish Jean Craighead George had written more ecological mysteries. They were one of my favorites as a kid.

On the flip side of the coin… I wish Mercedes Lackey’s Dragon Jousters trilogy hadn’t become a quartet – or that the sequel had been a separate trilogy with new main characters (as is her usual style). The fourth book just didn’t stand up to the first three, which make a perfectly nice trilogy in my mind anyway. 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels…

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I agree, the HP series is a wrap but companion books would be awseome.

Leave a Reply

