The Weekend Chef – Gnocchi

Featured Website: The Plastic-Free Chef

Featured Recipe: Homemade Potato Gnocchi

 

Ingredients: 

1 1/2 pounds potatoes (I used yukon gold)

1 1/2 cups flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour, my standard)

1/4 tsp salt

My Method: 

Peel and roughly chop the potatoes. Boil until tender. Drain the potatoes and then return them to the pot and mash them. Add the flour and salt and mix to form a dough. (Combination of stirring with a spoon and working with hands.)

Put another pot of water on the stove and bring to a boil. When the water is boiling, take small pieces of the dough and form into gnocchi shapes (an oval/disk with a finger or thumb impression works well). Drop into the boiling water one by one as you make them. Each gnocchi will float to the top when it is ready; remove gnocchi as you go and place in a colander to drain fully.

Drizzle gnocchi with olive oil and stir to coat for storage (to prevent sticking).

 

Notes: 

Make sure you mash the potatoes fully, leaving no lumps. Otherwise, you will have potato lumps in your gnocchi, which will make them harder to form. I also might try mashing my potatoes with a bit of milk or water next time.

Adding water to the pot of boiling water for cooking the gnocchi part way through might be a good idea; it started to get low, and it was harder to tell if they were floating or not.

Shaping and boiling the gnocchi as you go saves on having to flour a surface to set the gnocchi on after you shape them.

Rolling out the dough and cutting with a small cookie cutter might be fun; I have no idea if it would work.

Gnocchi can be topped with any sauce as you would pasta. They are delicious with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

This recipe has great potential to be a plastic free recipe, with potatoes, flour and salt all purchased in bulk. Though I did so, I purchased my flour in a plastic bag and my salt in a jar with a plastic lid.

I hope this recipe is a good make ahead to eat all week recipe; that is, I hope they will do well stored in the fridge for several days.

This would probably be very easy to make gluten free, since the flour component doesn’t seem to depend on gluten (the way bread does). Just substitute a gluten free type flour. (I have some quinoa flour; maybe I’ll try that next time. It would make an interesting flavor change.)

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and Baking, Plastic Free and Conscious Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

