Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

My life changed dramatically three weeks ago when I started graduate school. In the two years since I graduated from Reed College, I have spent far too much time reading. It’s been good; it’s been very good–but it was also too much. A 10 book TBR list for 3 to 4 months was just a drop in the water, but at this stage, 10 books between now and December 21st (or so) doesn’t seem like such a tiny number.

These are some new books coming out this Fall:

Bastion, by Mercedes Lackey, is the next book in the Collegium Chronicles series. It comes out on October 1, and I’m looking forward to the next installment in Mags’ story. 11-01-13 A good finish to the series (but not spectacular). 

The House of the Four Winds, also by Mercedes Lackey, comes out on October 8. It is the sequel to Crown of Vengeance, which I plan to re-read. 10/05/13 Edit: apparently The House of the Four Winds is not the sequel to Crown of Vengeance (this doesn’t surprise me; the cover looked all wrong for that world, and so was the title).  Mercedes Lackey’s website now claims it to be a new book about pirates (which might or might not be interesting), but I can’t find it anywhere else, so I don’t know when it’ll come out. It’s off the TBR list for now, but Crown of Vengeance is definitely still on.  10-29-13 Such an amazing book. 

Curtsies and Conspiracies by Gail Carriger is the sequel to Etiquette and Espionage, which I really enjoyed. It will be available on November 5. These books are my first foray into the world of steampunk. 11/26/13

These are some books on my shelf that I’d like to read:

The Steerswoman, by Rosemary Kirstein, sounds like an interesting conflict between knowledge, learning, and censorship, with some powerful woman characters. 9-30-13 Awesome. Fictional characters using scientific reasoning in a fantasy-type world. 

I’m trying to read Surrender None and Liar’s Oath by Elizabeth Moon to go along with the current Paladin’s Legacy series. 08/01/14

These are some other books: 

If I keep putting Sarah Addison Allen’s The Girl Who Chased the Moon on these lists maybe one day I’ll actually read it. 

I really enjoyed The King in the Window by Adam Gopnik, so I’d like to read The Steps Across the Water, also by Adam Gopnik. 10/09/13 

Ascension, by Jacqueline Koyanagi, sounds worthwhile. I found it on this list, via Jim C. Hines

Rachel Neumeier writes such wonderful reviews that she always makes me want to read whichever book she is reviewing. Lately she has mentioned Crown Duel and Court Duel by Sherwood Smith, which I did not enjoy as much when I read them. However, I think I was on Sherwood Smith overload at the time, and Rachel Neumeier’s reviews make me think that the duology is worth a re-read.  Book 1: Yes, worth re-reading. 11/17/13; Book 2: 11/30/13 Also worth re-reading. I think I understand the characters much better now. (Or was willing to understand them this time.) 

So, hmm, technically my list has 12 books, since I include two duologies as single entries. Oh well, more reading for me! 

 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

