Pumpkin Tart

There is a marvelous used bookstore, called The Book Juggler, in the town half-way between home and grad school. My dad and I have gotten in the habit of stopping there and accidentally spending longer than we meant to in the bookstore.  Last time we were there I found a wonderful cookbook, Pumpkin: a Super Food for All 12 Months of the Year, by DeeDee Stovel. Today I made a pumpkin-cheddar tart from that cookbook. I actually made this once already, about a month ago, and it was quite good. Today I made it because we’re going to a party tomorrow, and I needed a dish to bring. This one seemed appropriate for the Saturday after Thanksgiving, somehow. Though the recipe calls for a savory tart crust and a fluted tart pan with a removable bottom, I use my favorite quick and easy quiche crust* and a regular pie pan. It seems to work just fine. 

Some things I want to make in the upcoming weeks include: pumpkin rice pudding from that same cookbook; Cincinatti Chili (since I don’t like beans); a pecan pie (I’ve been wanting to make one of these for a while now…); taquitos (to keep in the freezer for quick snacks); an experiment with my favorite whole grain fruit-filled bars, using chocolate chips and toffee bits; sweet potato gnocchi……. 

*Quick and Easy Quiche Crust

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup ice water

In a medium bowl mix the flour and salt together with a fork. In a separate dish, beat the olive oil and water with a fork to thicken. Pour the olive oil and water into the flour and mix with the fork until combined. Press into a buttered pie pan by breaking off small pieces and flattening into the pan with your fingers. Use the same mixing bowl to make your quiche filling. Fill the quiche crust and bake as directed in your quiche recipe. (No need to pre-bake the crust.)

I found this recipe somewhere on the internet, though I’m no longer sure where.

This entry was posted in Cooking and Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

