Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

I’m really struggling with this TBR list, because my resources for books have become rather limited. The library system in my new town is much smaller than the old one, and there are only so many books I can cram into my winter break. In addition, what I really want to do is read a bunch of fantasy books with queer characters, but I’m having trouble finding those books, or finding ones that appeal to me from the fantasy side of things as well as having queer characters. (Everything is post-apocalyptic doom and gloom or dystopian horror or dark paranormal romance. Actually, that seems like YA in general lately, never mind the queer characters.) I also find that when I am busy with school I have trouble deciding what to read. I want things familiar and comfortable, and things that are easy to read. But at the same time, I’ve read some of my familiar comfort reads way too many times. Finding new books that hit just the right spot can be difficult. 

That being said…

I want to re-read the Harry Potter series. (It’s been more than a year!) I want to read one of my Harry Potter literary books, too. I finished this at the beginning of February and forgot to cross it off (and technically I cheated, since I’d just finished book 3 when I wrote this post.)

I started Timothy Zahn’s Dragonback series before leaving for school, but only got through the first three books before I moved. The books are not available from my new library system, so I definitely want to read the last three while I’m home at Christmas. 12/26/13 Christmas Break reading # 1 done!

The Lost Steersman and The Language of Power by Rosemary Kirstein are also on my Christmas break reading list since they are unavailable to me elsewhere. 01-01-14 Man, I love these books.

Pantomime, the sequel to Shadowplay, comes out in January, and I’m looking forward to it. I got Pantomime by ebook from the library, which I can still access in my new home, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to do the same with Shadowplay. I plan to read both Pantomime and Shadowplay (by Laura Lam). This, at least, is queer fantasy reading. 01-11-14 Shh, don’t tell. I stayed up until 3 am reading Shadowplay, one night…

Maybe I’ll finally read House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier. I think I can get it while I’m home at Christmas. 12/28/13 Wow.

Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow appeals to me in my diversity quest (an offshoot of the queer characters quest). Also, there is a person doing string figures on the cover. 01-04-13

I recently ran across Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld at a bookstore, and it sounded interesting. My new library does have it, so I’ll be checking that one out soon. More steampunk! 01-08-14 Wow. Books 2 and 3, here I come!

Elizabeth Bear has been popping up on Rachel Neumeier’s blog, and is also on my asexuality reading list. Maybe one of her books would be good to add to my queer characters reading quest. They seem to fall in the fantasy or science fiction categories.

A Study in Silks by Emma Jane Holloway is currently keeping me occupied, and it does hit just that right spot of easy to read, engaging, interesting, but not taking over my mind. Maybe it actually helps to read it in ebook format, much as I prefer real, physical books. Anyway, I want to read the next two books, A Study in Darkness and A Study in Ashes. Maybe I’ll be able to get them as ebooks as well, but I’m not entirely hopeful. My new library doesn’t have them, either. Sigh.

Reading A Study in Silks has also reminded me of my vague thoughts of reading some Sherlock Holmes mysteries, and made those thoughts slightly less vague. So yes, some of those.

Oh yes, and you can read all about Top Ten Tuesdays over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

