Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

The difficulty in making this top ten list is in deciding whether it is the book that is a top ten candidate, or the author. These here are authors who inspired me to read more of their books, authors who I will be keeping an eye on for future works (several were debuts), or whose books I felt a particularly strong connection to. They all have that spark of something special that goes beyond the single book.

I don’t normally read science fiction, but Timothy Zahn‘s Dragonback series has really appealed to me. It’s an interesting look into morals and values (and there’s no romance). 

Marie Brennan mixes all kinds of genres in A Natural History of Dragons. I quite liked the writing style. Though I’m not sure about her other works, I’m definitely hanging on to this one.

Laura Lam’s Pantomime was just fascinating. I am waiting for the sequel(s?), and will definitely keep an eye on this author in the future.

In her book Quicksilver, R.J. Anderson wrote the first asexual romantic character I have ever met in fiction. I found this book came at a particularly good time. Quicksilver is the sequel to Ultraviolet.

Gail Carriger introduced me to steampunk in Etiquette and Espionage, (and its sequel, Curtsies and Conspiracies) which are all round entertaining reads full of unconventional characters.

The King in the Window was my introduction to Adam Gopnik, and, well, he writes fascinating worlds.

Jinx, by Sage Blackwood is kind of like Diana Wynne Jones, only not really. I’m looking out for the sequel and future works.

Broken Trails, D Jordan Redhawk. Lesbian romance. Alaska. What’s not to like?

In The Steerswoman, Rosemary Kirstein blends fantasy and science fiction, strong women, and scientific reasoning in a quest for knowledge. It’s so rare to find strongly scientific, logical thought in a fantasy character that I couldn’t help but get excited about this author.

A Study in Silks, by Emma Jane Holloway, is the next steampunk book I got into, and is another genre mixer. Steampunk, mystery, romance, fantasy.

Head on over to The Broke and the Bookish to find out all about Top Ten Tuesdays.

 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

