Top Ten Books I Read In 2013

In the interest of not simply duplicating my top ten authors list, I’ve eliminated all books on that list from this one, when they might otherwise have been on this list.

Find out more about Top Ten Tuesdays at The Broke and the Bookish.

Crown of Vengeance, Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory. This book goes back to the time of what is legend-history in the Obsidian trilogy, another of Lackey and Mallory’s works. I find it a fascinating addition to the world, and love thinking about connections between the two times. It is, however, a rather dense book.

Good Night, Mr Tom, Michelle Magorian. I first read this book in 2010 or 2011, at the recommendation of my mom. I re-read it this year, and it’s just as amazing this year as it was then.

How to be a Dragon…without burning your tongue, Arlene Williams. This was interesting and unusual.

Secrets in the Stone, Radclyffe. Fascinating characters, mainly.
Thirteenth Child, Patricia C Wrede. I love this alternate magical US frontier, and Eff is an excellent protagonist. There is also a lot of philosophy in this book and its sequels. (I’m not sure if philosophy is actually the word I’m looking for.)

The Running Dream, Wendelin Van Drannen. This book. It just keeps being a favorite. I really want to run again, and this is where it shows.

The Edge of Nowhere, Elizabeth George. Almost fantasy, almost contemporary, almost a murder mystery. (The kid wasn’t murdered, just put into the hospital, if I remember correctly…) I hope there is a sequel sometime.

No Small Victory, Connie Brummel Crook. Mostly, I liked the setting on this one — Canada during the Great Depression. Just a kids historical fiction book.

Banner in the Sky, James Ramsey Ullman. Suspenseful, mountains, cold, snow. It’s not quite historical fiction, because it’s set in a fictional world, but close enough.
The Musician’s Daughter, Susanne Dunlap. More historical fiction, musicians this time. (I must be turning into my mom, reading historical fiction and murder mysteries…) I liked this one for the musical connection.

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

