Celebrating Harry’s Birthday

Tomorrow, July 31st, I will be celebrating Harry Potter’s birthday. I’ve never done anything quite like this before, though I did once have a Harry Potter themed birthday party of my own. (It was just after the 4th book came out.)

In honor of Harry’s 11th birthday I’ll be having chocolate cake and cold sausages for breakfast. (I’m not, however, waking up at midnight tonight to cook the sausages.)  Luckily I like my breakfast sausages cold as well as I like them hot — something which I blame on the Harry Potter books in the first place.

In memory of Harry’s miserable 12th birthday I’ll be doing a bit of yard work. I don’t intend to smash any puddings, though, so don’t worry.

I have a small spinning top that I’m going to pretend is a pocket sneakoscope in honor of Harry’s 13th birthday, and maybe I’ll clean my broom (for the Handbook of Do-It-Yourself Broomcare).

Harry received cakes in the mail for his 14th birthday, and I’m not quite sure I can replicate this one. I’m going to let my one chocolate cake suffice. Harry did, after all, have cake for breakfast this year as well (though possibly not on the day of his birthday, since that was before the book started).

Book 5 makes no mention of Harry’s 15th birthday, so there’s not much I can do there.

Harry’s 16th birthday was celebrated with a birthday tea. I’m not quite sure what British people think of as a birthday tea, but I’m going to make myself some tea (the black kind, with milk and sugar) for this one. Hopefully my birthday tea won’t be interrupted with bad news, as Harry’s was.

Harry’s 17th birthday was marked by a few things… the kiss from Ginny, a giant snitch shaped cake, and Scrimgeour’s visit about Dumbledore’s will. Seeing as I haven’t got a girlfriend (nor did I recently break up with one), have already decided that one cake is enough (and severely doubt I could pull off a spherical cake anyway), and don’t have anybody leaving me things in a will (that I know of), I’m not sure how to go about this birthday, either. (But who knows, Harry didn’t know about Dumbledore’s will, after all!)

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Harry’s Birthday

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Sounds like a day all planned…

Leave a Reply

