Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

(books you may have bought but aren’t sure if you are into it anymore, books you wanted to read but heard mixed things about, hyped books you aren’t sure about — basically any book that has you going, “TO READ OR NOT TO READ?”)

The Ribbajack by Brian Jacques. I like (used to love, but haven’t read in a long time) the Redwall series and the Castaways of the Flying Dutchman series, but I haven’t read any of Jacques’ other works. I found this one for 50 cents at the library bookstore and picked it up out of curiosity, but I’m not actually sure I’m all that curious.

Goblin Hero and Goblin War by Jim C. Hines. I read the first book in the trilogy, and liked it well enough, but didn’t find it particularly compelling either. I bought all three together, but I’m not sure if I’ll bother reading the last two.

Girl of the Linderlost by Gene Stratton Porter. I picked this one up at the used bookstore, and I’m just not sure any more why I thought it was worth buying. I guess when I read the blurb it sounds interesting, but when I look at the cover I that interest goes away.

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson. This one was passed on to me by an acquaintance, and I was uninterested for a long time. Now, though, I’m getting more interested in Brandon Sanderson as an author, so I might start there, just because I have it. But the name is off-putting.

The Magic and the Healing by Nick O’Donohoe. This book sounded really good when I read a review of it, but in person it sounds a bit much like a little girl’s fantasy: “I’m going to be a vet for unicorns when I grow up, Mommy.” So I’m just not sure.

The Morning Gift and Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson. I really like A Song for Summer, and quite enjoyed A Countess Below Stairs. I’m simultaneously hesitating to and wanting to read these two, which are in the same vein. I’m not sure why.

 

Learn more here.

This entry was posted in Reading and Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

