Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list

I’m posting this now (September 2nd) instead of in three weeks when this topic is officially scheduled because the school year has started, and it just feels too weird to start a Fall TBR list four weeks into the Fall semester. I want to start reading my Fall TBR books now, even if it’s not entirely logical — after all, I can read whichever books I want whenever I want to and make the TBR lists match. But somehow the significance of the start of the school year trumps that. This time around, I’m categorizing my TBR list.

Serious Reading: Hild, by Nicola Griffith, keeps popping up in various contexts, and it sounds really good.

Nonfiction: This summer I went hiking with a couple of grad student friends and spouted off a few redwood tree facts of the type you pick up from reading numerous informational signs on hikes. They said that I was, after all, the local expert (as they’re both from out of state). Then later when I didn’t know something they tried to revoke my expert status and forgot that it was them who called me an expert in the first place. So, I decided that I need to actually become a redwood expert, and Coast Redwood: A Natural and Cultural History (ed. John Evarts and Marjorie Popper) is one of the books I found to aid me in this goal. Another non-fiction book I’d like to make some progress on is How Harry Cast His Spell, by John Granger.

Light Reading: I recently discovered the Mrs. Pollifax series (Dorothy Gilman) and I’m totally hooked. Next up is A Palm for Mrs. Pollifax. 9/26

Queer Reading: Sing the Four Quarters by Tanya Huff is next on the list in my fantasy with queer characters quest. 09/14/2014 Yep, queer characters!

Other Fiction: I’ve been putting off reading  Magic Flutes and The Morning Gift, both by Eva Ibbotson, though I don’t know why.

Books on my shelf at home: I started reading A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer  a while ago and really need to finish it!

Books from my library list: Downbelow Station by CJ Cherryh has been sitting in a list on my library account for a while. It’s science fiction (which I don’t read much of) and maybe has queer characters. Meh. I started reading it, but can’t get into it. Oh well. 10/09  I recently read Spellcast by Barbara Ashford, and now I want to read its sequel, Spellcrossed. (9/6)

 Learn all about Top Ten Tuesday at the blog, The Broke and the Bookish.

 

This entry was posted in Reading and Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

